Stephen & Damian at HOB LA

I checked out Stephen & Damian at the House of Blues in LA on April 26th.

Mind Control

K’naan opened the show. K’naan is a Somalian hip hop artist who’s lyrics depict his experiences in Mogadishu. This was the first time I had ever heard his music. The drum beats got my attention…then I noticed his smooth flowing style…then the lyrics hit me. I was like…hold on this yute is actually talking about something. It wasn’t about bling or gyal or whatever. Each song was a powerful story about his experiences growing up. The crowd was really feelin him too. Truss me him bad.

Stephen hit the stage and performed a few songs off his new album Mind Control. Leading up to the show I was wondering how Stephen would come across as a solo artist. I’ve seen him on stage before mainly with his brothers and he might do one or two solo songs and backup Damian on a few but i’d never seen him do a solo perfmance where he has to carry the show. Well hear mi nuh man, he quickly put my wondering to rest…he put on a commanding performance. He definately has a presence on stage that is very much like Bob. He also did a few Bob songs. It’s funny, normally I kinda cringe when anybody covers a Bob song but when Stephen does a Bob song I feel almost like i’m watching Bob. His voice…manerisms…everything. It’s not that he tries to imitate Bob its just something in him…a vibe or presence or whatever you want to call it but it is clear.

The crowd railed up when Mos Def came out to do Hey Baby with him and then the place go fi tear down when Damnian came out for Traffic Jam. Damian did a few on his songs including JAMROCK and was wicked as usual. But it got real serious when Stevie Wonder joined them on stage…yeah THE Stevie Wonder. I saw Stevie come down the stairs to join the ‘general population’, I couldn’t beleive he was just partying with the crowd like that. Stephen and Damian called him on stage for a few Bob songs and he did his thing. Ben Harper and Charlie Tuna made appearances on stage as well.

It was a wicked show definately one to check if it comes to your City.

Respec

~ by sydt on April 29, 2007.

5 Responses to “Stephen & Damian at HOB LA”

  1. i was at the show…K’naan rocked it and I got goose bumps each time Stephen opened his mouth. That is one talented yout

  2. Can you please email the dates of the 2007 Sunsplash in both Jamaica and Tampa/Orlando as soon as you have them available to the public? I really appreciate it! I can be contacted at tracy.heitzig@resortspcbeach.com. Thanks yous so much!!!

    Tracy

  3. WE LEAVE IN ONE WORLD AND WE ARE IN NEED OF GOLD.ONE PEOPLE,ONE WORLD,ONE DESTINY.lETS UNITE AND BUILD THE WORLD.
    ORIGINAL MUSIC GENERAL-REALITY VIBES NETWORK.

  4. Wonderful blog post.

  5. May be your best read on here!!

Leave a Reply

 
